Barbra Streisand, Tom Cruise, Alger Hiss, and Me

He  was  very  lonely  and  extremely  depressed  about  his  struggling  career.

jonathanbrandiscitykid2

JONATHAN    BRANDIS   :   1976   –   2003

As  we  move  inexorably  closer  to  The  Son  of  the  Mother  of  All  Wars,  one  question  has  weighed  heavily  on  the  minds  of  all  Americans:  “I  wonder  what  Barbra  Streisand  thinks  about  all  this?”

At  last  that  question  has  been  answered.

I  haven’t  done  a  scientific  search,  but  by  my  informal  count  over  the  past  week  there  have  been  roughly  411  stories  in  the  major  news  media  about  Barbra  Streisand’s  courageous  stand  denouncing  President  Bush’s  Iraq policy.  “Streisand  Denounces  Bush!”  followed  by  “Streisand  Explains  Misspellings  In  Her  Denouncement  Of  Bush!”  followed  by  “Streisand  Denounces  Bush  Again!”  Clearly  there  is  something  irresistibly  newsworthy  about  a  major  Hollywood  star  and  lifetime  supporter  of  the  Democratic  Party  publicly  voicing  her  disagreement  with  the  policies  of  a  Republican  administration.  Stop  the  presses!

On  the  other  hand,  the  nation’s  top  movie  star  Tom  Cruise  and  top  movie  director  Steven  Spielberg  –  the  elite  of  the  Hollywood  elite,  both  with  impeccable  liberal  credentials,  publicly  state  their  full  support  for  President  Bush’s  Iraq  policy            –   and  it’s  strictly  a  one-day  story.

Of  course  when  it  comes  to  big-time  celebrities  publicly  breaking  with  The  Official  Screen  Actors  Guild  –  Streisand  Approved  Position  ( “SAG-SAP”  for  short ),            Cruise  and  Spielberg  have  exhibited  profiles  in  courage.  When  you’re  in  show  business,  it  ain’t  easy  to  stray  from  the  party  line.  The  peer  group  pressure  is  immense.  Think  about  it.  There  are  98,000  actors  in  the  Screen  Actors  Guild.  97,996  of  them  have  imbedded  in  their  DNA  a  core  set  of  inalienable  truths  they  hold  to  be  self  evident,  beginning  with  the  absolute  belief  that  Alger  Hiss  was  innocent                     ( and  even  if  he  was  guilty  –  which  he  wasn’t!  –  hey,  he  meant  well  ).

The  remaining  four  actors  are  Arnold  Schwarzenegger,  Pat  Sajak,  Patricia  Heaton,  and  me.

I’m  an  actor.  In  New  York.  I’m  also  a  Republican.  For  years  I  was  in  the  closet  about  my  political  beliefs  –  a  dark,  scary  closet  filled  with  shame  and  back  issues  of  Policy  Review.  To  be  a closet  Republican  in  New  York  show  business  means  spending  a  lot  of  time  staring  at  your  shoes,  giggling  nervously,  and  changing       the  subject.  It  means  grinding  your  teeth,  biting  your  lip,  and  holding  your  tongue  –  often  simultaneously.  It  means  never  having  to  say  you’re  sorry  ( because  nobody  knows  you’re  a  Republican ).

New  York  City  is  a  liberal  town.  But  there’s  no  liberals  like  Show  Business  Liberals  ( like  no  liberals  I  know ).  Not  just  the  obvious  characters  you  see  slapping  on  the  old  red  ribbon  and  heading  downtown  to  The  Performer’s  Black  Box  Experimental  Theater  for  a  deconstructionist  production  of  Waiting  For  Godot  ( Godot  shows  up  and  he’s  a  lesbian )  to  benefit  the  Third  Annual  Free  Mumia  And  Legalize  Medicinal  Crack  Artists  Collective.  Those  are  the  reasonable  ones.  I’m  talking  true  believers,  people  who  think  the  only  thing  wrong  with  Castro  is  he’s  a  smoker.

It’s  not  so  much  that  they’re  INTOLERANT  of  any  political  opinion  that  isn’t  in  direct  agreement  with  their  own.  It’s  that  they  literally  can’t  conceive  of  such  a  thing.  If  you  find  yourself  in  a  political  discussion  with  a  New  York  Show  Business  Liberal  and  you  should  happen  to  voice  an  opinion  contrary  to  theirs  ( just  for  fun,  try  this  one:  “Gee,  maybe  we  should  drill  for  oil  in  Alaska.  I  hear  they  got  a  lot  of  oil  up  there.” )  –  look  out!  They’ll  sputter  and  shake  in  spasms  of  outraged  incomprehension,  building  up  to  one  glorious  burst  of  self-righteous  indignation.  Then  they  spontaneously  combust. 

I  know.  I’ve  been  there.

One  of  my  earliest  experiences  with  the  indignant  ire  of  the  New  York  Show  Business  Liberal  came  in  the  mid  80s.  I  was  young  and  skinny  and  performing  with  a  sketch  comedy  troupe.  One  night,  after  a  particularly  successful  show,  we  retired  to  the  local  bar  to  get  drunk  and  tell  each  other  how  great  we  were  ( this  is  also  what  young,  skinny  actors  do  after  a  lousy  show ).  I  was  flirting  with  one  of  the  young,  skinny  actresses        in  the  troupe  and  she  was  flirting  with  me.  The  sly  innuendo  and  double  entendres  were  flying  briskly  until  she  innocently  asked  for  my  thoughts  on  President  Reagan                   ( the  question  was  along  the  lines  of  “Do  you  think  he’s  evil  and  malevolent?”  or       the  other  way  around ).  I  responded  just  as  innocently,  “Well,  he  was  awfully  good  in  King’s  Row.”  That  was  the  end  of  the  flirtation,  the  end  of  the  evening,  and  eventually,  the  end  of  the  troupe.

That  was  the  first  of  many  such  incidents.  I  soon  realized  no  matter  where  I  went,     I  was  surrounded.  At  auditions,  in  rehearsals,  on  sets,  hanging  out  in  coffee  shops,  wherever  I  went  for  the  rest  of  my  life,  I’d  be  with  fellow  actors  who  view  Republicans  not  simply  as  people  who  subscribe  to  the  principles  of  a  political  party  but  as  really,  really  awful  people  who  subscribe  to  the  principles  of  a  really,  really  evil  political  party  and  who  ought  to  be  ashamed  of  themselves,  if  not  actually  tarred  and  feathered  ( or  at  least  subjected  to  much  glaring,  glowering,  tongue  clucking  and  eye  rolling,  not  to  mention  considerable  exasperated  sighing  and  a  healthy  dose  of  sneering  and  smirking ).  

I  had  to  make  a  choice.  I  could  either  stand  up  like  a  man  and  proudly  assert         my  beliefs,  defiantly  disregarding  the  contempt  of  my  peers.  Or  I  could  keep  quiet  and  meekly  go  the  way  of  the  coward,  the  quisling,  the  collaborator,  shamefully  hiding  my  convictions  in  the  closet  ( with  my  good  Republican  cloth  coat ).                 Was  I  a  man  or  a  mouse?

To  quote  that  great  Republican  Bob  Hope  –  pass  the  cheese.  Hey,  I  was  young  and  skinny  and  I  wanted  to  meet  girls.  I  went  into  the  closet. 

For  the  next  15  years,  I  led  a  double  life.  No  one  in  show  business  knew                 my  shocking  secret.  As  they  railed  against  Reagan,  I  nodded  weakly.  As  they  beat  around  the  Bush,  I  giggled  nervously.  As  they  fumed  and  flustered  over  that  #@!&@-damned  Giuliani,  I  talked  too  loud  and  changed  the  subject.

The  years  went  by  and  I  continued  my  deception.  Year  after  year,  I  hid                      my  dark  secret  from  my  peers.  I  scurried  around  in  the  shadows,  keeping                 my  little  Republican  thoughts  to  myself.

Until,  one  fateful  day  a  couple  of  years  ago,  I  got  booked  as  a  guest  on                         The  O’Reilly  Factor  on  FOX  News.  I  was  there  as  a  comedian  to  crack  wise  on            Hillary  Clinton’s  senate  run.  A  nice  gig.  I  would  sit  one-on-one  with  Bill  O’Reilly  and       we’d  review  the  various  gaffes  that  had  occurred  in  Hillary’s  campaign  ( there  were  a  lot  of  them )  and  I’d  make  with  the  funny  one  liners.  It  would  be  a  seven  minute  segment.         I  had  plenty  of  material  prepared  and  I  knew  that  Bill  was  no  big  fan  of  Hillary  so            I  was  secure  that  he’d  set  them  up  and  I’d  hit  them  out.

A  few  moments  before  taping  my  segment,  O’Reilly’s  attractive  young  producer  led  me  from  the  green  room  onto  the  set.  I  was  introduced  to  Bill.  Large  guy,  very  poised,         good  suit.  We  chatted  amiably  about  nothing  much,  we  checked  our  hair,  we  briefly  discussed  the  segment  we  were  about  to  tape,  the  cameraman  reminded  me  to  sit  up  straight  and  we  were  on.

Bill  was  talking  into  the  camera,  introducing  me.  I  was  thinking  about  my  first  joke.         Bill  turned  to  me  and . . . . He  asked  me  if  I  was  a  Republican.

I  was  knocked  for  a  loop.  What  was  this?  He  was  supposed  to  be  setting  up                 my  Hillary  jokes,  not  giving  me  the  third  degree!  “Why  do  you  ask?”  I  stammered            seeing  the  whole  segment  crashing  in  front  of  me.

“We’d  like  to  know  where  our  guests  are  coming  from.”  he  smiled  pleasantly  –                 the  way  Godzilla  used  to  smile  at  Tokyo.

I  tried  to  be  coy.  “Well,  Bill,  I’m  in  show  business.  If  I  answer  that  honestly,              I  may  never  work  again  in  this  town!  Heh  heh.”  I  was  starting  to  twitch  like              a  left-wing  civil  rights  activist  at  a  dwarf-tossing  contest.

 “Well,  are  you?”   He  wasn’t  going  anywhere  until  he  got  an  answer.

I  attempted  the  most  pathetic  dodge  in  the  history  of  television.  “Am  I  a  registered  Republican?”  He  just  stared  at  me.  I  swallowed  hard.  That  was  it.  There  was                 no  turning  back.  “Yes,  Bill,  I  am  a  Republican.” 

I’d  said  it!  On  national  television!  Heck,  international!  They  knew  it  in  Cleveland,  Copenhagen  and  Kuala  Lumpur:  Dave  Konig  is  a  Republican.  I  was  out  of the  closet.  The  rest  of  the  segment  went  great.  I  riffed  on  Hillary  with  a  new  found  confidence.       The  big  story  that  week  was  that  Hillary  had  suddenly  discovered  she  was  1/48th  Jewish.     I  told  O’Reilly,  “This  is  an  epidemic  in  the  Clinton  White  House.  First,  Madeline  Albright.  Now  Hillary.  Believe  me,  Bill.  I’ve  been  a  Jew  all  my  life.  When  you’re  a  Jew,  you  know  you’re  a  Jew!  You’re  not  just  suddenly  struck  Jewish!”  I  was  a  free  man.  It  felt  pretty  good.  

I  write  this  as  a  public  service.  I  know  that  somewhere  out  there  in  this  cold  hard  city,  there’s  a  young  boy  fresh  out  of  Yale  Drama  School.  He’s  taking  acting  classes  in  the  Village,  performing  downtown  in  a  deconstructionist  production  of  “Death  Of  A  Salesman”  ( Biff’s  a  lesbian ),  and  getting  drunk  in  the  White  Horse  Tavern.  I  know.      I’ve  been  there.  ( Well,  actually,  just  the  part  about  getting  drunk  at  the  White  Horse. )  He’s  scared.  He’s  lonely.  He’s  a  Republican.  

Son,  don’t  make  the  same  mistake  I  did.  Don’t  waste  years  hiding  in  the  shadows.  Be  brave.  be  proud,  be  like  me!  

Ah,  who  am  I  kidding?  My  secret’s  still  safe.  After  all,  no  self-respecting  New  York       Show  Business  Liberal  actually  watches  the  FOX  News  Channel.

Or  reads  NRO.

( “Barbra  Streisand,  Tom  Cruise,  Alger  Hiss,  And  Me”  by  Dave  Konig,  http://www.nationalreview.com :  October  8,  2002 )

Leave a Reply

