We Shall Overcome

He  was  very  lonely  and  extremely  depressed  about  his  struggling  career.

jonathanbrandisweshallovercome1

I  had  a  real  super  good  insight  into  Hollywood’s  view  about  Republicans.                  I  had  written  a  book  called  “The  Boost”  and  I  wrote  the  first  draft  screenplay  for             the  movie.  The  second  draft  screenplay  was  written  by  the  producer.

As  often  in  Tinseltown,  the  film’s  writing  credits  had  to  be  settled  by  a  Writer’s  Guild  arbitration.  Credits  are  important  because  they  help  scribes  get  future  writing  gigs  and  only  credited  writers  collect  residuals.

At  one  point  during  the  arbitration,  I  happened  to  be  in  the  men’s  room  where  one  of       the  judges  entered.  Not  knowing  that  I  was  in  one  of  the  stalls,  I  overheard  this  judge  say  to  a  colleague :  “I  couldn’t  give  any  credit  to  any  son-of-a-bitch  who  worked  for  Richard  Nixon.”

Later  when  announcing  their  decision,  that  same  judge  shamefully  told  me :                  “Well,  we  thought  about  this  really  seriously  and  decided  you  don’t  get  a  credit.”

That  was  typical  of  my  experiences  as  a  Republican  in  Hollywood.

( “Ben  Stein :  Portrait  Of  A  Hollywood  Republican”  by  Thomas  M.  Sipos,                         The  Hollywood  Investigator :  September  28,  2003 )

The  man  at  the  Christmas  tree  tent  in  Malibu  kept  winking  at  me  and  nodding         when  no  one  else  was  looking.  I  smiled  and  kept  looking  at  the  trees.  In  Malibu,       we  Jews  have  Christmas  trees.  Finally,  he  motioned  me  to  come  over  to  his  table.            He  cupped  his  hand  over  his  mouth  and  took  my  hand.  “We  won,”  he  said.            “We  won.”

I  know  exactly  what  he  meant.  “You  can  talk  about  it,”  I  said.  “This  is  America.”

“Yes,  but  it’s  also  Malibu  and  I  don’t  want  people  yelling  at  me.” 

A  few  minutes  later,  I  was  grabbing  a  shopping  cart  at  How’s  Market  in  the  Trancas  section  of  Malibu  when  a  sweet  faced  middle  aged  woman  approached  me  carefully.  Then  she  saw  a  young  couple  nearby  and  turned  away.  Moments  later,  she  ran  into  me  at  the  egg  cooler,  looked  around  to  make  sure  there  was  no  one  looking  or  listening  and  said:  ” I  love  what  you  say  about  politics  on  TV.  You’re  so  brave.  I’m  on  your  side.  There  are  some  of  us  here  but  we  keep  our  mouths  shut.”

“You  don’t  need  to,”  I  said.  “The  election’s  over.  We  won.”

“Yes,  but  it’s  not  over  here.  Can  you  believe  they  just  had  Michael  Moore  at       the  new  Malibu  bookstore  and  they’ve  NEVER  invited  you.  And  how  long  have         you  been  out  here?”

“Twenty  four  years  off  and  on,”  I  said.

“Well,  anyway,  when  I  see  you  and  I  smile  at  you,  You’ll  know  what  it’s  all  about.  Go  Bush,”  she  whispered  and  headed  for  the  fresh  fish.

Earlier  in  the  day  when  I  had  been  doing  some  looping  at  a  studio  on  Radford  Drive  in  Studio  City  for  a  movie  in  which  I  have  a  part,  a  man  on  a  forklift  came  by  and  winked  at  me.  “Keep  giving  them  hell,”  he  said  softly.  “There  are  more  of  us  here  than  you  think.  Bush  rules.”

This  is  the  way  it  is  here.  We  meet  in  smoky  places.  We  give  the  high  sign.       We  nod  knowingly.  We  are  like  members  of  the  Maquis  in  Occupied  France.            Or  early  Christians  emerging  from  the  catacombs  in  Caligula’s  Rome.                      We  are  the  GOP  in  Hollywood  and  on  the  West  Side  of  L.A.                                  The  culture  here  is  so  dominantly  left-wing,  PC,  vegan,  hate  America                      that  many  of  us  feel  we  have  to  behave  as  if  we  were  underground. 

At  a  self-help  meeting  where  men  and  women  confess  to  drug  use,  betrayals,  thefts,  homicides  with  cars,  at  a  break,  a  woman  stealthily  came  up  to  me  last  Saturday  and  motioned  me  into  a  corner  outside  the  room  in  Malibu.  “I  want  to  tell  you         there  are  some  of  us  who  agree  with  you.  We  have  to  keep  it  quiet  because       we  want  to  get  our  kids  into  the  right  schools.  But  we’re  there.  We’re  there.       And  there  are  more  of  us  every  day.”  Then  she  scuttled  off  into  the  night.           Slamming  crack  can  be  spoken  of  with  a  smile,  but  not  voting  GOP.                        That  could  be  dangerous.

But  it’s  changing.

At  an  intersection  on  Sunset  Strip  in  West  Hollywood,  a  young  man  in  a  truck,  wearing  two  earrings  and  closely  cropped  hair,  gave  me  the  V  for  victory  sign  as  I  walked  by  him.  “We’re  here,”  he  said.  “You  can’t  tell,  but  we’re  here.  Keep  up  the  talk  for  Bush.”  

Some  idea  of  just  why  people  whisper  comes  from  another  encounter  this  week         among  a  group  of  Hollywood  types  in  a  hip  night  spot.  I  was  saying  how  much              I  love  my  self-help  program.  “I’m  a  Republican,  but  I  learn  from  Democrats,”  I  said.  “I’m  a  Jew,  but  I  learn  from  Gentiles.  I’m  sort  of  famous  but  the  meetings  are  where  I  feel  safe.”  

“Hmmm,”  said  a  man  who  had  recently  been  the  star  of  a  sitcom  but  who  had  seen  his  whole  life  crumble  under  the  weight  of  some  truly  horrific  family  violence.              “Republican  Jew.  Republican  Jew.  Republican  Jew  who’s  famous.  Who  lives  in  Beverly  Hills.  Republican  Jew  who  has  more  stuff  than  I  have.  I  don’t  like  it.”

“It’s  a  free  country,”  I  shrugged.

“Maybe,”  he  said.  “Maybe.”

This  is  one  of  the  worst  little  recent  examples  of  how  people  here  feel  about  Republicans  ( and  Republican  Jews  who  should  blow  their  brains  out,  to  use  an  old  hippie  phrase ).  Rants.  Screaming  about  how  we’re  trying  to  control  women’s  bodies.  Draft  their  sons  out  of  their  BMW’s  and  send  them  to  war.  Scowls  and  frowns  at  Morton’s.  Hysterical  calls  from  the  network  when  I  appeared  on  TV  backing  Right  To  Life.  These  are  real. 

Feeling  like  outsiders.  Feeling  as  if  we’re  going  to  get  our  cars  keyed                        if  we  have  Bush  stickers  on  them.  Getting  trash  thrown  on  our  yard                         for  having  up  a  Bush  sign.  These  are  real. 

Getting  denied  screenplay  credits  because  I  once  worked  for  Nixon.                   Those  are  totally  real. 

Yet,  we’re  here.  Meeting  in  smoky  places.  Greeting  and  giving  the  secret  sign         in  the  fog  out  by  Zuma  Beach.  More  of  us  everyday. 

And  in  the  words  of  the  Civil  Rights  song  I  used  to  sing  when  I  marched   for  voting  rights  in  Cambridge,  Maryland:  “We  are  not  afraid.  Deep  in  my  heart,           I  do  believe  we  shall  overcome  some  day.” 

Even  in  Los  Angeles.  Even  in  Malibu.  Even  in  Hollywood. 

Tremble,  Barbra,  tremble. 

We  are  right  outside  your  gates  with  our  truth. 

We  are  not  afraid  and  we  shall  overcome. 

( “We  Shall  Overcome”  by  Ben  Stein,  The  American  Spectator :  December  6,  2004 )

Leave a Reply

