THE ARCOLYTES

blacklist2

THE  ARCOLYTES  have  reported that Political  Sabotage  is  once  again  sadly                    taking  place  at  various  key  conservative  discussion  boards,  forums  and  websites          in  the  past  few  months.

As  a  necessary  precaution  and  a  personal  favor  to  them,  this  space  is  reserved         for  their  vital  task  of  helping  to  preserve  more  data  or  information   concerning       The  New  Blacklist  versus  Hollywood  Republicans.

RON  SILVER  ( actor,  1946 – 2009 ) :

“I  am  liberal  politically  on  a  lot  of  social  issues  but  I’m  also  very  serious  about  fully  supporting  George  W.  Bush’s  anti-terrorism  policy.  After  I  made  my  speech  in  favor  of  President  Bush  at  the  Republican  Convention  in  Manhattan  during  2004,  Hollywood  and  Broadway  virtually  dried  up  for  me.  The  phone  suddenly  stopped  ringing.  Nada.  Not  a  single  acting  job.

Now  I  would  not  call  it  a  FORMAL  BLACKLIST  in  any  way,  shape  or  form  because      I  don’t  think  a  vast  left-wing  conspiracy  is  really  behind  it.  Most  people  are  very  economical  with  the  truth  out  here  so  its  hard  to  determine  cause  and  effect.

However,  if  you  want  to  use  the  term  BLACKLIST  loosely,  then  I  can  definitely  say  that  it  did  happen  to  me  but  on  a  more  individualized  basis.  There  have  been  occasions  when  certain  people  said  about  me:   ‘I  don’t  want  to  work  with  that  S.O.B.!’  They  are  so  blinded  by  their  rage  against  a  Republican  administration  and  against  the  person  of  a  Republican  president.  It  is  undifferentiated,  unremitting,  hysterical,  vicious  and  intellectually  dishonest.  It  becomes  a  social  unwillingness  that  precludes  any  kind  of  civil  conversation  which  one  may  have  about  the  substance  of  any  topic  or  issue.

So  is  there  an  INDUSTRY  BLACKLIST?   The  short  answer  is  ‘NOT  OFFICIALLY’.

Nevertheless,  it  has  affected  me  very  badly.  I  cannot  point  to  a  specific  person  or  job  that  I’ve  lost  but  this  community  is  not  very  pluralistic.  I  have  not  worked  in  at  least  10  months.  Socially,  I  also  don’t  go  to  good  parties  anymore  and  spend  more  time  with  my  own  family  nowadays.

ROBERT  DAVI  ( actor ) :

Hollywood  is  indeed  a  very  liberal  community  for  the  most  part.  But  the  polarized  discord  has  grown  so  much  that  a  lot  of  guys  who  happen  to  be  conservative  are  really  FRIGHTENED  and  FEARFUL  of  coming  out.  I  have  been  a  little  more  outspoken  than  most  but  the  common  fear  among  many  of  us  is  that  one  will  get  marginalized  as  a  result.   If  you’re  a  conservative  in  Hollywood,  they  are                 going  to  HURT  you.

MORGAN  BRITTANY  ( actress ) :

“I  once  co-starred  with  ED  ASNER  in  a  stage  play.  It  was  during  the  2000  Florida  recount  that  put  George  W.  Bush  in  the  White  House  over  Al  Gore.  At  the  start,        Ed  just  loved  me  and  gave  me  a  big  hug  every  night.  Then  one  day,  he  was  going  CRAZY  backstage  about  Bush  stealing  the  election  from  Gore.  I  gently  told  him:      ‘Ed,  chill.  Not  everybody  thinks  the  way  you  do.’  He  turned  to  me  and  asked:          ‘You’re  not  a  Republican,  are  you?’  I  answered: ‘Yes.’  And  then  he  said:                        ‘I  can’t  even  look  at  you.  I  can’t  even  talk  to  you.’  It  was  like  a  light  switch.          From  that  moment  on,  he  never  spoke  to  me  again  except  on  stage.  I  actually  lost  ED  ASNER’s  friendship  due  to  politics.  This  is  what  we  are  dealing  with.              THE  INTOLERANCE  OF  THE  LEFT.

ROB  SCHNEIDER  ( comedian ) :

“Democracies  don’t  end  well.  We  are  sliding  very  fast  towards  FASCISM.  It’s  an          UGLY  kind  of  thing.  There’s  this  MOB  MENTALITY  that  we  have  to  be  careful  of.  There’s  a  POLARIZATION  that  is  happening.  I  do  think  you  can  look  at  government        and  go,  ‘Wow,  it  is  out  of  control  now.’  And  if  you  do  criticize  or  tend  to  be        NOT  directly  along  a  LIBERAL  stand,  you  can  get  MURDERED.

DREW  CAREY  ( comedian  and  television  game  show  host ) :

“For  a  while  there,  I  think  people  thought  I  was  a  big  Conservative.  And  I  think  that      it  actually  did  hurt  me.  I  honestly  think  that  it  automatically  hurt  me  when  I  said  that      I  supported  the  war  in  Iraq  and  our  troops.  That  automatically  killed  my  chances  for  getting  a  bunch  of  movies  and  TV  shows.  People  within  the  industry  didn’t  want  to  hear  from  me.  I  always  felt  like  an  outsider  looking  in.  But  being  a  Libertarian  is  cool.  In  Hollywood,  you  can  pretty  much  get  away  with  being  a  Libertarian.          But  if  you’re  a  Conservative  in  Hollywood,  you’re  kind  of  DOOMED.

TOM  SELLECK  ( actor ) :

“For  all  of  our  artistic  inclinations,  Hollywood  has  never  been  a  very  tolerant  place.

I  don’t  feel  persecuted  but  I  do  feel  frustrated.  What  disturbs  me  and  I  think  disturbs     a  lot  of  Americans  is  their  whole  idea  of  politics  which  seems  to  be:  ‘If  you  disagree  with  us,  you  must  be  evil.’  

If  you  fit  outside  the  narrow  parameters  of  Political  Correctness,  they  will  question  your  compassion.  That’s  why  a  lot  of  ( politically  conservative )  people  around  here  don’t  speak  up.

  KEVIN  SORBO  ( actor ) :

I  am  a  Libertarian.  I’m  one  of  the  true  independent  voices  in  Hollywood.  And  yet,       the  mere  fact  that  I’m  an  independent  politically  is  enough  to  make  me  lose       some  jobs  in  Hollywood.  I  have  been  BLACKLISTED  by  those  who  simply  disagree  with  my  politics.

Hollywood  Liberals  preach  tolerance  but  they  are  The  Most  Intolerant  People             I  know.  Hollywood  screams  tolerance  but  they’re  The Least  Tolerant  People         you’ll  ever  meet  in  your  life.  

The  HYPOCRISY  just  reeks  in  this  town.  Why  can’t  we  all  have  a  point  of  view?        You  are  not  allowed  to  disagree  with  Liberal  Hollywood.

PATRICIA  HEATON  ( actress ) :  

“I  found  out  early  in  my  showbiz  career  that  Hollywood  Democrats  like  to  claim  that  they’re  all  inclusive  but  in  reality  they  are  NOT  at  all  inclusive  of  my  opinions  or  those  of  any  other  political  conservatives.

I  once  wore  a  Republican  Party  button  around  town.  Literally,  various  people  would  stop,  look  at  the  button,  give  me  dirty  looks,  and say  the  nastiest  things  directly  to  my  face.  I  was  lucky  that  they  also  didn’t  spit  on  me  and  the  ground  where  I  stood.

It’s  too  bad  that  we  have  to  work  in  an  industry  and  live  in  a  country  where  people  like  myself  are  made  to  feel  ashamed  about  voting  for  one  party  or  the  other.

I  know  for  a  fact  there  are  some  people  who  have  said  that  they  wouldn’t  want  to  work  with  me  simply  due  to  my  politics.  I’m  still  very  much  afraid  of  losing  work  because  of  it.”

KELSEY  GRAMMER  ( actor ) :

“When  you  are  a  Republican  in  Hollywood,  you  do  feel  a  bit  lonely  and  isolated.          I  wish  Hollywood  was  a  two-party  town  but  it’s  really  not.  Conservatives  are  outnumbered  here  and  get  BULLIED  by  liberal  co-workers  into  keeping                    their  political  opinions  to  themselves.  

I  know  of  a  makeup  trailer  that  sported  a  sign  warning  Republicans  to  keep  out.  U.S.  war  veterans  working  in  showbiz  often  keep  their  backgrounds  a  secret  because        they  hear  leftwing  co-workers  belittle  the  military.  Earlier  in  my  career,  a  prominent  sitcom  director  demanded  that  I  donate  money  to  Barbara  Boxer’s  senate  campaign.  Fearful  of  losing  my  job,  I  gave  $ 10,000  to  the  Democrats.  

My  ADVICE  to  less  established  industry  players  and  other  young  talents  starting  out   in  this  business:  SHUT  UP  ABOUT  POLITICS,  unless  you  think  ‘the  way  you  are  supposed  to’.  And  that  means  liberal.  

Never  forget  that  leftwing  INTOLERANCE  runs  pretty  rampant  out  here  in  California.

Leave a Reply

