M . T . I . Tells His Story

He  was  very  lonely  and  extremely  depressed  about  his  struggling  career.

brandisbornfree1

JONATHAN    BRANDIS    :    1976    –    2003   

You’re   a   REPUBLICAN ?   You’re   FIRED !  

The  editor  of  PLAYGIRL  came  out  on  television  last  week  saying  she  is  a  Republican  and  voted  for  George  W.  Bush  in  the  last  election.  She  was  on  FOXNews  talking  about  the  fact  that  no  one  in  her  office  but  her  was  a  Republican.

As  I  watched  this,  I  turned  to  my  wife  and  said:  “She’s  going  to  get  fired.”  

A  few  days  later,  she  was.  She  wrote  to  The  Drudge  Report  and  said  that  a  leading  person  at  PLAYGIRL  told  her  on  the  phone:  “I  WOULDN’T  HAVE  HIRED  YOU                IF  I  KNEW  YOU  WERE  A  REPUBLICAN.”  

Then  he  laughed.  Some  joke.

When  the  Catholic  Church  fires  people  who  work  for  them  and  are  gay  ( which  is  behavior  against  church  doctrine ),  all  hell  breaks  loose.

But  let  a  liberal  fire  a  Conservative  and  no  one  cares.  

I  know  from  EXPERIENCE.  

I  worked  in  the  film  industry  during  the  1980s  and  1990s.  I  was  an  outspoken  Conservative  towards  the  end,  but  at  the  beginning  I  really  couldn’t  have  cared  less          about  politics.

One  day  after  I  had  just  started  within  the  industry,  I  went  in  to  talk  with  the  production  manager  of  a  new  film.  I  was  hired  on.

But  when  he  was  reviewing  my  resume,  he  saw  that  I  once  did  a  lighting  job  for      a  Republican  show  in  Washington.  

HE  WENT  NUTS  AND  CALLED  ME  A  NAZI  right  there  in  the  studio  office  in  front        of  everyone.  

When  I  said  that  was  uncalled  for  and  wrong,  HE  THREW  THE  RESUME  AT  ME         and  said:  

“GET  OUT!  I  DON’T  WORK  WITH  REPUBLICANS!!”  

He  laughed  as  I  got  up  and  left.  Some  joke.   

Years  later,  I  was  working  on  a  TV  show  and  was  GETTING  HARASSED  for  reading  The  Wall  Street  Journal  and  Current  Events.  After  a  few  days,  the  Gaffer  ( our  chief  lighting  tech  and  a  Closet  Conservative )  came  over  to  me  and  said:  “Why  don’t  you  put  the  articles  you  think  would  get  them  thinking  on  my  equipment  cart?”  

I  did  so  and  within  a  few  hours  people  were  reading  them.  Tax  increases.  Don’t  Ask,  Don’t  Tell.  Nannygate.  Hillarycare.  The  articles  attacked  the  sacred  cows  of  the  Left  and  people  started  debating  them.

THEN  THE  INSULTS  STARTED.  I  WAS  CALLED  A  NAZI  ( ONCE  AGAIN )  ON  THE  SET.  THE  DIRECTOR  TOOK  A  POLAROID  OF  ME  AND  DREW  HORNS  AND  A  DEVIL’S  BEARD  ON  IT.  Lunches  turned  into  political  debates  about  Clinton  and  why  he  was  bad  for  the  country.  ( Rather,  I  said  he  was  bad.  The  other  99  people  at  lunch  had  other  thoughts. )

At  one  point,  the  production  manager  approached  me  and  suggested  that  I  cool  it.          I  told  him  that  I  had  a  right  to  my  opinions  when  asked.

He  said:  “AND  HOLLYWOOD  HAS  THE  RIGHT  TO  KEEP  PEOPLE  LIKE  YOU  UNEMPLOYED.” 

Then  he  laughed.  Some  joke.

After  my  stint  on  the  show  ended,  a  few  crew  people  told  me  they  also  were         Closet  Republicans.  But  they  knew  it  was  no  joke  and  kept  quiet.

I  wonder  how  may  of  them  are  still  working  in  the  industry  now  that  other  Conservatives  are  fighting  back  in  Hollywood  and  moving  up  the  chain  of  command.

Hopefully  soon,  the  Liberals  will  know  how  it  feels  to  get  fired  for  their           political  beliefs.  In  MatWorld,  that  would  be  funny.  Real  funny.

( openlettertoabc.blogspot.com :  March  2005 )

Leave a Reply

